Biblical Manhood and Womanhood

Next year Bethlehem will be piloting a new Children Desiring God curriculum on Biblical Manhood and Womanhood. I am signed up to teach it.

I have fallen in love with complementarianism; it’s biblical and better than egalitarianism. I’m excited to learn and teach on such an important topic! I was considering teaching this next year but had some hesitations. When Connie told me that the curriculum for Wednesday night Connection was going to be this topic, I was so gripped by the subject that I almost said yes immediately (but thought better and put some deep consideration to it). She warned me there may be some flack about it (from the parents). Inside I was thinking “there better be, this is hard stuff! Bring it on!”

There are two primary reasons this gets me going so much. The first is this: I love complementarianism, but I have a difficult time articulating what it is. I can point you to Ephesians 5 or Colossians 3 for a few proof texts, but that’s not enough. I want to be able to show someone why this is the way God intended us to be.

The second reason has to do with teaching in general. I have been thinking about eldership lately, which has me looking for opportunities to teach. I have another opportunity this Sunday, when I will teach the last lesson for 6th grade Sunday School.

Pray for me.

One thought on “Biblical Manhood and Womanhood

  1. How fun!! Interestingly, we have already been praying as a small group for the people who will benefit from this curriculum–which includes you!! I am excited you will get to teach this…I am excited for this curriculum too! I know my mom would appreciate prayers as she finishes it–it has been very difficult to write so far, because of the content (and because she has written so many before this one), but so far the Lord has been faithful. She’s about halfway through now and hopes to finish before mid-August…

Leave a Reply

