Why I’m Quitting Twitter

It’s distracting

I find myself waking up in the morning and the first thing I do is reach for my phone. In the midst of prayer I’ll think “I should tweet this”. Just this morning I was thinking how beautiful of a morning it was, and my first instinct was to tweet about it. Or how I heard about the Chris Thile concert this coming Monday and wanted to tell/invite everyone to come (you should come).

It’s voyeuristic

I end up knowing more about what folks are doing than I want to. People don’t realize how much information they share online. But more than that, my imagination runs wild. Relationships seem more real than they are, like I was there when they “just had a great time at the coffee shop”. Then disappointment comes when I realize I wasn’t there, and wasn’t invited either (and why should I have been? I barely know them!). That’s no way to live.

It’s not all bad

There are a lot of things I’ll miss about Twitter. Like how I was reminded about a Derek Webb concert. Or keeping up with people’s lives. Hearing of things to pray for. Catching glimpses of what peoples’ bible studies.There are a few relationships that Twitter was instrumental in developing. I’ve thought about quitting for a long time, but these relationships are all that’s kept me from doing it. I hope they stay strong (and get stronger).

But it’s bad enough to quit

My blog will still update twitter, and I will still get the emails about DMs. I may check for mentions every few weeks, but my consumption is cut off.

Pastor John wrote an article about Twitter before he joined. In it he worried that it would have negative effects. Well, it has for me and so I hereby quit Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Why I’m Quitting Twitter

  1. i wish i could claim also making such a conscious decision, but i have neglected to log into twitter for months simply because i dont see its social use while facebook exists

  2. Good for you kiddo! Who needs all that useless information? Seems to me we should be busy enough living our own lives that we don’t have time or inclination to hear so many minute details of everyone else’s lives. Facebook at least the detail level seems less intrusive and a quick skim is good enough.

  3. Your post brought me back to this post from my blog. It is titled “Internet Idolatry”.

    Twitter, Facebook, Blogging, Email, Surfing… they all consume our time, money, passions and thoughts. How can we use these forms of communication without becoming obsessed with them? X-ray questions are an excellent method to determine if you are addicted to something or allowing it to become an idol in your life. In addition to X-ray questions… I have also developed a few questions of my own to guard against excessive internet use:
    · Do you have more than two email addresses?
    · Do you spend inordinate amounts of time browsing through your spam box?
    · Do repeatedly start blogs, facebook, or twitter accounts …only to cancel them a few weeks or months after you have started them?
    · Do you often forget the passwords and usernames for all the online accounts that you are currently registered with?
    · Do you spend more time emailing, facebooking and blogging than you do fellowshipping with others in your church family?
    · Do you lose your temper with your children when they are distracting you from what you are doing online?
    · Do you see your online time more as a ministry of service to others or more as a ministry to yourself (in order to relax and veg)?
    · Do you frequently stay up past when you normally go to bed in order to spend “just a little more time surfing”?
    · Do you know your online friends better than you know your neighbors, mail carrier, convenience store clerk, school secretary, etc.?
    · Do you invite online friends to chat more often than you invite a friend over for dinner?
    · Do you spend more time online than you do finishing the jobs that your wife asks you to do around the house?

    1. I’ve seen similar lists before, and some of those questions certainly are convicting. Email, greader and facebook still draw me away from present realities, but they are slowly taking their rightful place too. It’s all grace.

      Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

